Tag Archives: new album

Childhood Announce New Album ‘Universal High’, Also Share Single

Childhood have announced that their sophomore record Universal High will be released on July 21st via Marathon Artists. Releasing almost three years after their debut Lacuna, Universal High was written by frontman Ben Romans-Hopcraft and produced by Ben Allen (Gnarls Barley, Dirty Projectors and Animal Collective) in Atlanta.

The first track from the album, Californian Light, was also shared with the album announcement and can be found below – alongside the album’s tracklisting and pre-order.


Universal High


  1. A.M.D.
  2. Californian Light
  3. Cameo
  4. Too Old for My Tears
  5. Melody Says
  6. Universal High
  7. Understanding
  8. Don’t Have Me Back
  9. Nothing Ever Seems Right
  10. Monitor

Pre-order: Physical, iTunes

Liam Egan


Cloud Nothings Announce New Album ‘Life Without Sound’, Also Share Single

Cleveland outfit Cloud Nothings have announced that their upcoming album, Life Without Sound, will be released January 27th via Carpark/Wichita. After their critically acclaimed record Here and Nowhere Else in 2014, and their collaboration with Wavves last year, Life Without Sound will come in 2017 after being recorded earlier this year. The album was produced by John Goodmanson, who is known for his work with Sleater-Kinney and Wu-Tang Clan.

The album’s first track was also shared with the announcement, in the form of single Modern Act. Listen below.

Life Without Sound


1. Up To The Surface
2. Things Are Right With You
3. Internal World
4. Darkened Rings
5. Enter Entirely
6. Modern Act
7. Sight Unseen
8. Strange Year
9. Realize My Fate

Liam Egan

American Football Announce Long-Awaited Sophomore Album, Also Share New Song And Live Dates

After 17 years of waiting, Illinois emo pioneers American Football announced today that they’ll be releasing their second record on the 21st of October 2016. Self-titled, like their iconic debut, the album will be released via Polyvinyl in the U.S. and Wichita in the UK and Europe. The band have also shared the first cut off the album, which is titled I’ve Been So Lost For So Long (which can be listened to below).

The band originally reunited in 2014, 14 years after their initial split, when they started playing live shows again. In a new interview with Pitchfork, the band revealed that the new album was recorded earlier this year at ARC Studios in Omaha and SHIRK Studios in Chicago. The album was created out of the band wanting to have an excuse to see each other monthly, rather than just out of “playing the same nine songs for people.”AF_2016_LP_Jacket_PRINT.indd

American Football have also announced a string of four live dates, which see the band visiting Chicago, New York, London and Los Angeles. These are the only dates released thus far, but expect more shows to possibly roll out soon.

29th October 2016 – Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre
28th January 2017 – New York, NY – Terminal 5
11th February 2017 – London, England – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
25th February 2017 – Los Angeles, CA – The Ace Hotel Theatre

You can pre-order the album over on their site, in which the band are releasing on vinyl (3 separate coloured variants), CD and digital. See the tracklisting below


01 Where Are We Now?
02 My Instincts Are the Enemy
03 Home Is Where the Haunt Is
04 Born to Lose
05 I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
06 Give Me the Gun
07 I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
08 Desire Gets in the Way
09 Everyone Is Dressed Up

Liam Egan