Holograms Interview

 

The other day I had the pleasure of talking to the frontman of Swedish post-punk outfit Holograms Andreas Lagerström and he kindly answered some on my questions. Let’s crack on shall we?

In 2012 you released Holograms and in 2013 you released Forever, are we likely to see a third album this year or will we have to wait abit longer than usual?

We have already recorded an EP last Winter. These songs are quite different from the two albums, I don’t know when it’s going to be released. We’re working on artwork right now. I don’t think we are doing an album any time soon as we are a little tired creatively if you know what i mean.

Earlier this year you teamed up with Beach Fossils’ Dustin Payseur and Wild Nothing’s Jack Tatum to form the group The Snow for Record Store Day, how did that come about? was the recording process any different to the way you’d usually record tracks with Holograms?

I met Dustin in Paris in 2012 and really hit off. I love him a lot, he has great taste in music and is an all around great guy. He sent me some tracks that summer and asked if I wanted to record some vocals on them so I did it in my bedroom here in Stockholm. I had now no idea that Jack played Bass on the track then.

You’re signed to Captured Tracks, how does it feel to be signed to a label that’s roster consists of such great artist such as Mac DeMarco and DIIV?

We don’t really reflect on it too much and try to do our own thing. We met Mac in Stockolm once and he was great and cool.

Which song/songs do you like preforming live the most? and why?

Right now I like performing new songs that the audience hasn’t heard. I want to see their reaction, sometimes they love it and sometimes they hate it which is ok too.

You’ve grown quite substantial fanbases here in the UK and the US, what’s the reception been like in Sweden?

I still don’t know. In Sweden people are not really celebrated for “making it” so you don’t know if you’ve made it or if people like you. Sometimes people stare at me.

What artists are you currently listening to?

Robbie Basho, Lower, IBV(Video below), Jaqcueline Du Pré

 

Finally, can we see a Hologram tour coming to the UK anytime soon?

Probably, but I don’t know when!

 

 

Thanks again to Andreas for taking the time to answer the questions.

Leave a Reply

